Everyone makes mistakes, but mistakes can last forever, especially on the Internet. That’s true of any text message you send on your iPhone, which isn’t great when you make a silly grammatical mistake or send the right message to the wrong person. And sadly, there’s no way to edit a bad text message or unsend an accidental one on iOS, until now.
With the release of iOS 16 this fall, you’ll be able towhat you’ve sent, as long as you do it fast.
do not miss:
Apple announced these new text messaging features for the iPhone at itsin June. Other new features coming to iPhone include Y . And SharePlay is being added to Messages.
We’ll explain how these two new text messaging features work. And if you want to explore iOS 16 right now, before the general public release, here you go.on your iPhone and iPad.
Edit messages you’ve already sent
If you use messaging tools like Slack, chances are you’ve edited at least one, or 100, of the messages you’ve sent. Whether you’ve made a typo or your message contains incorrect data, the editing function is a great way to quickly make your corrections. With iOS 16, you’ll also be able to edit your sent messages from your iPhone within 15 minutes of sending.
To edit a text message, you’ll need to launch Messages and enter any threads that are using iMessage, which you probably know as blue text. This feature will not work with SMS text messages (green texts). Now, press and hold your finger on the message you want to edit. This will open the Tapback reactions and quick action menu. Finally touch Edit.
The text message will become editable. You can delete the entire message, correct any errors, or add more text to it. Once you’re done, press the blue checkmark button on the right hand side to save your edits. You can only edit a single message up to 5 times.
An actionable Edited button will appear below your edited text message. The person on the other end will also know that the message has been edited, and if they touch editedall previous versions of your text message will appear on top of the edited text message, in slightly dimmed chat bubbles.
Instantly retrieve any messages you accidentally sent
Accidental messages happen too often. Maybe you hit the send button when you wanted to select an emoji. Or maybe you messaged the wrong person entirely. In any case, you will be able to recover those messages with iOS 16. Unlike the message editing feature, you only have 2 minutes to unsend a text message.
To cancel sending a text messageLaunch the Messages app, touch and hold the message (blue text only) you want to unsend, and touch Undo Submit.
The text message will disappear from your thread, both on your end and the recipient’s end. A message will appear in your thread, indicating that your message has not been sent, but the recipient may have already seen it.
Unfortunately, if the other person is running something older than iOS 16, the message won’t go through even though their phone says it will.
The recipient will see a gray text status message that says: “[Name] didn’t send a message” if they have already viewed the text. This is similar to the Delete Message feature that apps like WhatsApp and Signal already have, which also display a similar message after retrieving a text.
While you wait for these new features to arrive, check out the new. Also, here it is .